Hugh Dancy added to list of honorees at the Savannah Film Festival

Surprise Director’s Choice screening returns to lineup

Hugh Dancy will be honored Tuesday, Nov. 3 with a “Spotlight Award” for his performance in this year’s Fox Searchlight release “Adam” at the 12th annual Savannah Film Festival, which runs Oct. 31- Nov. 7. Dancy most recently starred in “Confessions of a Shopaholic” and “Evening.” He will next star in the MCC Theater’s Joe Mantello-directed Off-Broadway production of “The Pride,” which previews at the Lucille Lortel Theater Jan. 27, 2010. On television, Dancy received an Emmy nomination for his role in Tom Hooper’s Golden Globe nominated series “Elizabeth I” opposite Helen Mirren and Jeremy Irons.

Dancy joins a lineup of special guests including Patricia Clarkson, Woody Harrelson, Ben Foster, Emmy Rossum and Jeremy Renner. Clarkson is slated to receive an Achievement in Cinema Award at a screening of her new film, Woody Allen’s “Whatever Works.” Harrelson and Foster, who star in opening-night film “The Messenger,” also will receive Achievement in Cinema Awards. Rossum will be honored with the Young Hollywood Award prior to a showing of her film “Dare,” and Renner will receive a Spotlight Award for his performance in “The Hurt Locker,” which will also screen at the festival.

In addition, the festival has reinstated the surprise Director’s Choice screening after a one-year absence. The screening on Thursday, Nov. 5, will feature a major studio release that will be kept secret until the opening credits roll.

Adam and Miguel Arteta’s “Youth in Revolt” also has been added to the festival as a special screening. Also showing are Jean-Marc Vallée’s “The Young Victoria,” Grant Heslov’s “The Men Who Stare at Goats,” Pedro Almodovar’s “Broken Embraces,” Lone Sherfig’s “An Education,” James Ivory’s “The City of Your Final Destination,” the United States premiere of Nick Moran’s “Telstar” with Moran in attendance, Jodie Markell’s “The Loss of a Teardrop Diamond” (from a screenplay by Tennessee Williams), Bette Gordon’s “Handsome Harry,” Cannes Palme d’Or winner Michael Haneke’s “The White Ribbon,” and Lee Daniels’ “Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire,” winner of the Grand Jury Prize at Sundance and the Audience Award at the Toronto Film Festival. Daniels and star Gabourey Sidibe will be in attendance.

In addition to the special screenings, 22 professional films (features, documentaries, shorts and animation) and 12 student films in competition will show at various times throughout the festival. The jurors for this year’s competition are actress Patti D’Arbanville (“Rescue Me”), actress/producer Rita Gam, writer/director Ingrid Rockefeller, writer/director Michael Sucsy (Emmy Award-winning “Grey Gardens”) and writer/director David Twohy (“Pitch Black”).

For more information on the festival and a complete schedule of events, visit